How long have marshmallows been around?

Ancient Egyptians were the first to enjoy a gooey treat now called marshmallow as early as 2000 BC. The treat was considered very special and it was reserved for gods and royalty. Marshmallow was made from the mallow plant (Athaea Officinalis) that grows wild in marshes