What is unrealized income?

Income that you are sure to receive, but has not yet been paid to you.

---

Gains that are "on paper" only are called "unrealized gains." For example, if you bought a share for $10 and it's now worth $12, you have an unrealized gain of $2. You won't pay any taxes until you sell the share.