What is the difference between sterile and non sterile?

The difference between sterile and non sterile is the presence of microorganisms. Sterility is the absence of viable life and means an object is free of all microorganisms and bacteria. Nonsterile means an object can look and be clean, but there is a presence of bacteria and microorganisms.