What kind of vegetable is broccoli?

Brassica oleracea is a plant species that includes many common foods as cultivars, including cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower, kale, Brussels sprouts, collard greens, savoy, and kohlrabi. In its uncultivated form, it is called wild cabbage, and is native to coastal southern and Western Europe