Is star wars based on a book?

From the Adventures of Luke Skywalker is the original title of the novelization of the 1977 film Star Wars. Ghostwritten by Alan Dean Foster, but credited to George Lucas, it was first published on November 12, 1976, by Ballantine Books, several months before the release of the film.