What is sunflower lecithin?

Lecithin is generic term. Consumer demand for for genetically non-modified sources boosted use of sunflower one. But both soy and sunflower lecithin contain same main ingredients: phosphatidyl choline, phosphatidyl inositol, phosphatidyl ethanolamine, phosphatidylserine, and phosphatidic acid.

---

Sunflower lecithin is made by dehydrating a sunflower and separating it into three parts: oil, gum, and solids. The lecithin comes from the gum. It is processed through a cold press system like the one used to make olive oil.