Why did brazil lose?

Brazil lost their quarterfinal FIFA World Cup match because - since the match was tied in regulation time -the other team (Croatia) made the most penalty kicks.

---

Why did brazil lose? Why is Brazil out of the World Cup? Tournament favourites Brazil have been knocked out of the World Cup after losing to Croatia who won on penalties 4-2 in their quarter-final clash