How do you know when broccoli is gone bad?

It's color should be a bright, uniform green; anything else is likely spoilage (e.g. yellow, brown, black or white mold). The broccoli stem should be firm but a soft stem is an indicator of spoilage. A strong smell/odor is also problematic.