What's a four oh three b. plan?

This is a retirement plan for certain employees of public schools, some tax exempt organizations, and some religious employees (like a minister). It is similar to a 401(k) plan, but for public, tax exempt, and religious organizations. It is often referred to as a 403(b) plan (using numbers).