What is the second hardest substance on earth?

Diamond's hardness is roughly 10.5-14.5 million psi. The second hardest substance is a compound make from aluminum, magnesium, and boron. It was made for the first time in 1992 by scientists at Ames Laboratory in Iowa. Its hardness is 6.67 million psi (about half that of diamond).