How can i help protect hedgehogs?

To protect hedgehogs: Create a wild corner in your garden. Add a tussocky patch to your garden as a perfect daytime nesting area for hedgehogs. Plant a tree. Turn allotments and veg beds into havens. Avoid chemicals. Provide nesting places. Make a compost heap. Break down barriers. Offer extra food.