What does it mean to temper an egg?

When recipes call for you to temper eggs, you generally need to add a hot liquid to an egg mixture. If you just combine the two mixtures, you’ll end up with cooked eggs in your sauce. The goal here is to slowly bring up the temperature of the eggs without scrambling them.