Why do dogs chew their feet?

Allergic skin disease is the most common reason why dogs chew their feet on a chronic basis. Food allergies are typically the culprit, and secondary infections from yeast and bacteria can further exacerbate the behavior. They could also have wounds or something stuck in their toes.