What are the back muscles?

Latissimus dorsi (lats), which helps you extend and rotate your shoulder and arm. Levator scapulae, which raises your scapula (shoulder blade). Rhomboids, two muscles (the rhomboid major and minor) that work together to pull the scapula inward toward the spine.