What is the horse and pony show?

Horse & pony show was a term used in the mid U S in the in the late 19th and early 20th centuries to refer to small traveling circuses that toured through small towns. Now it's taken as an often elaborate public relations or sales presentation or an elaborate or overblown affair or event.