What was the kansas nebraska act of eighteen fifty four?

The Kansas-Nebraska Act allowed for new territories to decide if they were a free or slave state by popular sovereignty. The Kansas-Nebraska Act undid the compromise that was made in the Missouri Compromise, which designated a line of latitude to be the separation of free and slave states.