How do dogs breathe?

Dogs can breathe through either the oral cavity or nasal cavity when they are awake. However, they are obligate nasal breathers when asleep. Therefore, if their nose is blocked, dogs will wake up, open their mouth to breathe and subsequently go back to sleep.