Who was yamato?

Isoroku Yamamoto was the mastermind behind Pearl Harbor. Yamamoto opposed war with the U.S., knowing a prolonged conflict would go badly for Japan. Prime Minister Tojo Hideki decided on war, Yamamoto argued only a surprise attack crippling U.S. naval forces in the Pacific had any hope of victory.