What's the difference between a citation and a ticket?

Ticket is a less formal term for a citation. There is no difference between a citation and a ticket. In both cases, it is a written document typically issued by a police officer. In some cases, a speeding camera may notify the police if you were not obeying traffic laws and a citation may be issued.