When was the original grinch made?

How the Grinch Stole Christmas! is a animated television special released December 18, 1966 and directed and co-produced by Chuck Jones. It is based on the children's book by Dr. Seuss, the story of the Grinch trying to take away Christmas from the townsfolk of Whoville below his mountain hideaway.