What does the statue of liberty having her left hand?

The Statue of Liberty holds a tabula ansata inscribed JULY IV MDCCLXXVI (July 4, 1776 in Roman numerals), the date of the U.S. Declaration of Independence. A tabula ansata is a table with dovetail handles.