What's the difference between a pony and a horse?

A pony is a small member of the horse family. In general, a pony is less than 14.2 hands high, but may grow taller. Ponies tend to have thicker coats than horses, with a thick mane & tail. However, ponies are also stubborn and very intelligent, and can be more difficult to manage than horses.

---

Measured as "hands high" abbreviated hh, ponies are generally under 14.2hh and horses are almost always 14.2hh and taller. The measurement is taken at the highest point of the withers which is the part of the shoulder where the neck transitions to the back. Each "hand" is four inches.