What's the movie mirage about?

Mirage is a 1965 American neo noir thriller film based on the 1952 novel Fallen Angel, written by Howard Fast under the pseudonym Walter Ericson. Mirage is also the name of a 2018 mystery-drama movie. Both movies deal with memories & amnesia.