Are lays potato chips gluten free?

Not necessarily. Frito-Lay tests its products for gluten, reporting that the products, including many Lays, Ruffles, and Stax potato chip flavors, contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten. The only way to feel relatively certain that a product is gluten free is if it says so on the label.