What is glass made of?

The glass most people are familiar with is soda-lime glass, which is a combination of soda (also known as soda ash or washing soda), limestone, and sand. Although you can make glass simply by heating and then rapidly cooling silica, the manufacturing of soda-lime glass is a little more complex.