What is cinnamon oil?

Cinnamon oil is derived from the bark or leaves of several types of trees, including the Cinnamomum verum tree and the Cinnamomum cassia tree. Most commercially available cinnamon oil is derived from the Cinnamomum cassia tree and is called cassia cinnamon.