What is calcium good for?

Calcium is best known for strengthening your bones and teeth. In addition, studies have shown that it is important for nerve signal transmission, hormone release, muscle contraction, blood vessel function and also blood clotting. There is also some evidence that it may lower blood pressure.

---

Calcium is important for optimal bone health throughout your life. Your body needs calcium to build and maintain strong bones. Your heart, muscles and nerves also need calcium to function properly. Before you consider calcium supplements, be sure you understand how much calcium you need.