Is olive oil a lipid?

Olive oil is a pure fat, but according to the U.S. Department of Agriculture's MyPlate guidelines, a healthy fat, meaning it contains no protein or carbohydrates. Most of its fat is made up of heart-healthy monounsaturated fats, with a small amount of polyunsaturated fat and saturated fat.

---

Olive oil is composed mainly of triacylglycerols (triglycerides or fats) and contains small quantities of free fatty acids (FFA), glycerol, phosphatides, pigments, flavor compounds, sterols, and microscopic bits of olive.