What is the difference between sweet and savory?

The basic definition is that sweet food has the flavor or taste of sugar or honey, while savory food is not sweet, but rather full-flavored & sometimes spicy. Sweet & savory foods often complement each other. A salad may have savory cheese & bacon, but may also include sweet fruit such as apples