What's separates north and south korea?

The Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) is a strip of land running across the Korean Peninsula. It is established by the provisions of the Korean Armistice Agreement to serve as a buffer zone between North Korea and South Korea. The DMZ intersects but does not follow the 38th parallel.