Why did the united states go to world war one?

There were several reasons behind the decision of the United States to enter WW1. It is believed the most compelling reasons at the time were the sinking of U.S. merchant ships as well as the Zimmerman Telegram. This led to President Woodrow Wilson to seek the approval of Congress to go to war.