What is a carnivorous animal?

Carnivores are animals that eat other animals. The word carnivore is derived from Latin and means “meat eater.” Wild cats, such as lions and tigers, are examples of vertebrate carnivores, as are snakes and sharks, while invertebrate carnivores include sea stars, spiders, and ladybugs.