Is sheet rock and drywall the same thing?

Yes, different names for the same product

---

Drywall is a flat panel made of gypsum plaster sandwiched in between two sheets of thick paper. It is adhered to metal or wood studs using nails or screws. You'll likely hear the terms drywall and Sheetrock, but Sheetrock is a specific brand of drywall sheet.