How long is a horse rideable?

A healthy horse can be ridden up to 25 to 35 miles a day. A trail horse can go up to 50 miles in a day and very fit horses up to 100 miles in a day. As a general rule most healthy horses should not be ridden once they are 20 to 25 years of age.