Why did the u. s. bomb hiroshima?

The US & other allied nations were losing hundreds of soldiers a day to Japan in 1945 after Germany had surrendered. The Allied leaders decided that the Hiroshima & Nagasaki bombings would cost fewer lives than those likely to be lost in a full invasion of Japan. The rest is history, as they say.