What's colonel sanders really a colonel?

Harland David Sanders, AKA, "Colonel" Sanders, was an American businessman, best known for founding fast food chicken restaurant chain, Kentucky Fried Chicken. His title "colonel" was not a military rank, but an honorary title conferred by the governor of the state of Kentucky.