What does a cat do with their nine lives proverb?

Why is it said cats have nine lives? The saying likely traces to 9 being a lucky number in many cultures, and a cat's uncanny ability to escape close calls due to flexible joints. For example, cats survive higher falls by always landing on their feet and can squeeze thru small spaces to avoid harm.