Why do cheetahs run fast?

The cheetah can accelerate from 0 – 60 mph in 3 seconds, making it the fastest land animal on the planet. the cheetah is a sprinter – not a long distance runner – and can only attain high speeds in short bursts due to the tremendous drain on its energy resources.

---

Cheetahs are feline predators that utilize their speed to hunt and catch their prey.