What is comprehensive coverage?

Comprehensive insurance coverage, also known as “other than collision” coverage, is car insurance coverage that can help pay the costs of damage to your car for non-collision-related claims. For example, it can help pay for damages caused by hail, theft, fire, or hitting an animal.