What is the difference between a llama and an alpaca?

Llamas grow a coarse wool coat, whereas an alpaca's hair is longer and finer. Llamas are much larger than alpacas, reaching over 400 pounds, whereas an alpaca is more like 150 pounds. Llamas have long faces with long, banana-shaped ears, while alpacas have a short face with shorter spear-shaped ears