Why do they call a cup of coffee a cup of jo?

Many claims for this phrase. One story. On June 1, 1914, Josephus Daniels, US Naval Secretary, issued an order declaring that the strongest drink allowed on US naval ships would be coffee. The presumably disgruntled sailors weren't happy, so they started to call coffee a “cup of Joe” out of spite.