Who is tommy john?

Tommy John was a major league baseball pitcher from 1963 to 1989, he is famous for being the first pitcher to ever undergo "Tommy John" or UCL reconstructive surgery, despite a bleak outlook at first, he returned after surgery to pitch effectively for several years.