How does a vanilla bean grow?

The cultivation of vanilla is extremely labor-intensive. The plants themselves don't even start producing vanilla beans until after three years. When they finally do bloom, the flowers only stay open for one day and have to be carefully pollinated within 12 hours of blooming.