When did they start putting fluoride in toothpaste?

Stannous fluoride toothpaste was introduced in limited test markets in 1955. Crest debuted nationally in 1956. By the late 1970s, a steep nationwide decline in cavities was attributed in part to the widespread use of fluoride toothpaste.