What is ten in in wine?

Tannin is a naturally occurring polyphenol found in plants, seeds, bark, wood, leaves, and fruit skins. About 50% of the dry weight of plant leaves are pure tannin. As a characteristic in wine, tannin adds both bitterness and astringency, as well as complexity