Did alexander the great conquer egypt?

According to Britannica, Alexander the Great reached Egypt in November of 332 B.C. - The Egyptians welcomed him, and the ruling Persian Satrap, Mazaces, wisely surrendered. Alexander was crowned with the traditional double crowns of the pharoahs, and spent the winter organizing Egypt.