Why do people say three a.m. is the devil's hour?

In folklore, the witching hour or devil's hour is a time of night associated with supernatural - sensed presences are most common between the hours of 2 and 4 a.m., corresponding with a 3 a.m. peak in the amount of melatonin in the body. Perhaps the lack of prayer at that hour explains it.