How long can a hippo hold it's breath underwater?

Hippopotamuses love water,which is why the Greeks named them the “river horse.”Hippos spend up to 16 hours a day submerged in rivers and lakes to keep their massive bodies cool under the hot African sun.Hippos are graceful in water, good swimmers, and can hold their breath underwater for up to 5 min