What is the m. s. saint louis?

During World War II, the Motorschiff St. Louis was a German ocean liner infamously known for carrying more than 900 Jewish refugees from Nazi Germany in 1939. They were refused entry to Cuba, the US, and Canada, and had to return to Europe, where nearly a third of them were murdered by Nazis.