How do you get a dog to relax?

First you need to relax. If you are hyper your dog will be, too. You can give your dog calming signals like a long slow yawn. Dogs give each other calming signals and understand them when you give them to your dog. Other signals are looking away, slow movements, blinking and relaxing your body.